EWC is grateful for the financial support provided by:

The Association of Finnish Non-Fiction Writers (Finland)
The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society-UK
The Swedish Writers’ Union
The Society of Swedish Authors in Finland
ProLitteris (Switzerland)
The Swedish Association for Educational Writers
Sanasto, the Finnish Authors’ Copyright Society 


Welcome to the website of the European Writers' Council (EWC) - Fédération des associations européennes d'écrivains – (FAEE) AISBL

EWC is the federation of 50 national and transnational organisations of professional writers and literary translators in 34 countries including the EU, as well as Belarus, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey and Montenegro. 

EWC’s members represent 433.000 individual creators of which 160,000 are authors in the book and text-sector in all genres.

The EWC champions the diversity of literatures while raising awareness for both the role of authors in society and the need to have their social, moral and economic rights respected in the digital age. 

The EWC defends the professional interests of its members in economic, legal and political contexts, their right to remuneration and compensation for their works, their relevance in cultural and social policy, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and the importance of lesser spoken and written languages. 

The EWC promotes  the need for a wider access to culture, including the production of special formats for the visually impaired persons of the world.

And the EWC remains determined to raise and publicly present the commitment of professional writers and literary translators to shaping the profile of Europe through individual creativity within the diversity of expressions in the rich variety of living European languages.