EWC is grateful for the financial support provided by:

The Association of Finnish Non-Fiction Writers (Finland)
The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society-UK
The Swedish Writers’ Union
The Society of Swedish Authors in Finland
ProLitteris (Switzerland)
The Swedish Association for Educational Writers
Sanasto, the Finnish Authors’ Copyright Society 

“A European Story: EUPL Winners Write Europe” Selection Process

The EUPL Writing Contest will be judged by both a professional jury and the public, who will each choose a winner. There will also be a special MEPs Prize, awarded by Members of the European Parliament, as well as a special mention for Cultural Heritage.

The winners of the four different categories will be announced at the Awards Ceremony taking place in Vienna in November 2018.

Professional Jury
A professional jury, made up of distinguished experts from the field of literature, including literary critics, journalists, authors as well as booksellers, will be judging these submissions in the coming months and choose a winner in November 2018.

The members of the professional jury are Maria-João Costa (Portugal), Nina George (Germany), Juancho Pons (Spain), Cathy Rentzenbrink (United Kingdom), Liana Sakelliou (Greece) and Marnix Verplancke (Belgium). The detailed profiles of the jury members are available on the EUPL website.

Public Jury
The public will also be invited to have their say. All submissions received for the EUPL Writing Contest will be published in an online publication on the EUPL website, which will contain both original texts and English translations. People will be able cast a vote for their favourite short fiction directly on the EUPL website.

MEPs Jury
A jury consisting of Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) will be awarding a special prize to their favourite short fiction. This initiative is spearheaded by Ms Petra Kammerevert, Chair of the European Parliament’s Committee on Culture and Education.

Special Mention for Cultural Heritage
As 2018 is the year of European Year of Cultural Heritage, the juries will be invited to give a special mention to the best short fiction in which European heritage plays a significant role
You can find more information on the European Year of Cultural Heritage on the following website: https://europa.eu/cultural-heritage/